Texas auto insurance requirements
In Texas, you are required by law to have liability coverage on your motor vehicle at all times. The minimum amount of liability required by the state is:
- Bodily injury liability: $25,000 per injured person, up to a maximum of $50,000 per accident
- Property damage liability: $25,000
This minimum basic liability insurance is often referred to 25/50/25 coverage.
The 25/50/25 requirement went into effect in April of 2008. Prior to that time, the requirements were lower at $20,000 per injured person (max of $40,000 per accident) and $15,000 for property damage. You may occasionally come across these numbers, so don’t be confused – in order to comply with Texas law, you must have a minimum of 25/50/25 coverage.
Keep in mind that this is the minimum amount required by law, meaning you can purchase more extensive coverage if you choose. In fact, there are several other types of Texas auto insurance you can purchase to provide you with additional coverage in the event of a car accident. These include:
- Uninsured/Underinsured Motorist Coverage
- Collision coverage
- Comprehensive coverage
- Personal injury protection
Remember, Texas imposes stiff penalties for drivers who fail to comply with the legally mandated auto insurance requirements. Those convicted for the first time will face a fine between $175 and $350. A second conviction ups the fine to $350 to $1,000. You will also have your driver’s license suspended and your vehicle will be impounded.
If you have been involved in a car accident, it is wise to speak with a lawyer before accepting any offer from an insurance company. A Texas personal injury lawyer can ensure that you get full and fair compensation for your injuries and property damage.
For free legal advice, contact Fears Nachawati today to receive a no obligation, no charge consultation with a Texas personal injury attorney. Just email us at firstname.lastname@example.org or call us on our toll-free number at 1.866.705.7584 for a free consultation.