New seatbelt and cellphone laws affecting drivers may be passed by Texas legislature
The Texas legislature is considering two laws that would significantly alter the state’s rules of the road. First is a law that would require backseat passengers to wear seatbelts. Under the current Texas state law, drivers and front-seat passengers are legally required to wear seatbelts. Existing laws only require that backseat passengers aged 14 years and younger wear seatbelts.
The new law, which was passed last week in a 25-6 vote, extends the seatbelt requirement to all backseat passengers, regardless of age. It also covers the much-discussed requirement that children aged 8 years and younger be seated in safety or booster seats.
The second law, tentatively passed by the House, prohibits talking on a handheld cellphone while driving in an active school zone. The handheld cellphone prohibition movement was begun in Highland Park; the House bill would extend the ban throughout the entire state of Texas.
For more details on both laws, click here.
If you have been hurt in a car accident caused by driver inattention, such as a driver talking on a cellphone while operating a motor vehicle, contact us today. Fears Nachawati is a Texas law firm handling all types of car accidents as well as motorcycle and 18 wheeler accidents. For more information contact the law firm at firstname.lastname@example.org or call us tollfree at 1.866.705.7584.